top of page

Book Review: The Bookweaver's Daughter

Updated: Jun 26, 2020









Title: The Bookweaver's Daughter

Author: Malavika Kannan

250 pages

Expected publication:

September 8th 2020 by Tanglewood

(first published July 2018)


ISBN:1939100410 (ISBN13:9781939100412)









 


“The problem with weaving stories is that you can never quite know when yours will begin.”


The main reason I requested a copy of this novel was because of its beautiful cover. It got me intrigued by all the possibilities this book could have to offer. The galaxy colour made me wonder how space could be relevant with the description of the novel, well I was wrong it as nothing to do with the galaxy.


“The Bookweaver once told me that when we die, we all leave something behind.”…”Really, it can be anything, as long as it was once warm from your touch and alight with your fire, and carries a piece of you within it forever.”

I was also very intrigued by Malavika Kannan’s writing. She is a young 18-year-old writer who won the Scholastic Awards National Medal and man I was not disappointed in her storytelling. This book sat at an easy read of 227 pages, but with more pages (around 350) the author could have created a better story development for each character.

“There’s always a way out if you’re persistent enough to find it.”

Our main character, Reya, was irrelevant* in many scenarios; she was useless in battles, only spoke out loud twice in her belief and she was always crying about how her life sucked but man how I couldn’t put this book down.

“You can divide your entire existence neatly into pre-Moment and post-Moment. Because that Moment will never really leave you.”

This book was fast-paced from the first chapter but at around 65%, the book action development was frustrating. This is the part where Reya’s character was frustrating me, girl you need to fight for what you believe in, but no she just gave up. She did exactly what she was asked, even if everyone would die for it.

“She wove lies into tapestries of secrets, but the problem with fiction is that if left unchecked, it comes true.”

I picked up this novel without knowing what I was getting myself into. Since I was personally going through grief and could 100% relate to the main character Reya, it made me connect to this book on a completely different level.

“I don’t know,” I said. “Maybe never knowing and never hurting is better than loving and losing.” … “ Because God knows that losing him, it hurts.”
“Still, it hurt. I was terrified of a world that moved on without me. Did it make me pathetic, selfish, to wish that the world would stop when I did?”

Overall this book made me fall in love with reading all over again. I was sad when the book ended; I just wanted to keep reading. I was able to complete this novel in only two days (day 1: 55%, day 2: 45%) I would recommend this book to individuals that are looking for an easy read.

“Books are like friends,” He once told me. “They don’t backstab. They listen. They heal by whispering words that outlive even time.” He’d smiled at me. “And if the book your need doesn’t exist, write it.”


PIN IT!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page