top of page

Book Review: Ever Cursed






Title: Ever Cursed

Author: Corey Ann Haydu


Hardcover, 304 pages

Expected publication: July 28th, 2020

by Simon Pulse

ISBN: 1534437037

ISBN13: 9781534437036





 

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. My thoughts and opinions are my own. Any quotes I use are from an unpublished copy and may not reflect the finished product.



“What are we protecting is so much bigger than your anger.”

The cover is breathtaking and makes you curious about what this novel has to offer. This book was fast-paced and easy to read through. The character developments are strong; I haven’t read progress from a YA in a while. I love how it showcases a good foundation on problems and it’s everyday society barriers:

“You need special care, don’t you?” the prince says, his tongue practically touching my ear. I tense. I shudder. He doesn’t care. “It’s a good thing. It’s a beautiful thing. You need. Don’t be so quick to let it go.”

The power that man think they have over women is just sad and under talked about, was he saying she should starve for the rest of her life? I love how the author wasn’t afraid to showcase this side of the world. The first 40% of the book did an amazing job at capturing my curiosity but there’s a point in the book that makes you stop right in your track. Just one plot after the other, while making you think of our world.

I always push on authors and publishers to put a warning sign at the beginning of a book when there’s going to be a traumatic situation happening. People that went through traumatic events have a right to brace themselves before they read about it. It took me way longer to read this book because I needed more time to digest scenes that were taking place and they weren’t even graphic!

Repeating a situation over and over again is a pet peeve for me and this book was no exception. The Lost princess disappeared a long time ago BOOOOHO we get the point already! It might have gotten mentioned at least 40 times or more. Okay, but hold up, this book ending though; I don’t get it, nope, not one bit… This book went from a 5 star to a 4 star just because of this ending. It just doesn’t make sense. Plain and simple, it was poorly executed.

Am I hitting a second book is in the process, by the way, Reagan’s talking at the end?


PIN IT!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page